The Last Day of the/my world

Sooo remember in my last post when I said I was upset that the delivery date was so far away? Well, we went in for an appointment yesterday for a non-stress test, which monitors the babies’ heartbeats for an extended period of time. (Doc was on call at the hospital, so that’s why we went in on a Sunday. Luckily, this meant that Greg got to come with me!) While we were there, I told him about my increasing shortness of breath, random contractions, and weakness/dizziness. The monitor I was hooked up to was able to detect a HUGE contraction while Dr. D was in the room. He left, and when he came back, he asked if I was ready to have the babies THIS FRIDAY!!!!!

I was so happy, I cried.

There are so many reasons for my excitement, but I mostly wanted the babies to be here while my sister was home for Christmas. Friday is perfect because that’s the day Jen and Chris arrive and it means I should be discharged by Christmas Eve or so. Now, keep in mind that the babies could still come between now and then. But this way, we have a finite date and it’ll be much calmer than having to rush to the hospital.

But did you notice what date it is this Friday? December 21, 2012 — a.k.a. the day the world is supposed to end. The end of the Mayan calendar. (Figures, right?) Now, I don’t believe in this superstition, but it still gets you thinking, doesn’t it? (I swear, if the world does end this Friday after I’ve gone through this whole pregnancy, I will have some SERIOUS beef with “the big guy” at the pearly gates!!!!) Perhaps “end of the world” just means the end of Greg and my world as we currently know it??? 🙂 Greg’s mom also pointed out that each of the numbers in 12/21/12 adds up to THREE! Cute, huh?

So how and when will you hear about the delivery?

Obviously, Greg and I will be focused on the babies, so we won’t be by our phones or a computer. And our parents will be busy tending to us and Hannah, as well as relaying the news to our brothers and sisters. So instead of texting or calling, be sure to check out the blog and/or Facebook! Greg will be posting a short note about how the delivery went, the status of each baby, birth weights, and hopefully some pictures!

stockingsAs you might guess, we’re literally counting down the days until the babies come. There are just a few loose ends to tie up, and we’ll be trying to get them accomplished. One of those tasks included making stockings for each of the girls. Greg took the lead since it’s his family tradition. Aren’t they cute? We’ll also be going out to dinner sometime this week to celebrate one last night together before our lives change forever!

I thought you’d want to know this exciting news. I’ll be keeping my regularly-scheduled appointment this week, but I figured I’d give you one last update on the pregnancy:

Weeks: 34 (woo hoo!!! We met our goal. 🙂 )

Weight Gained: 50 lbs. (exactly what triplet moms are supposed to gain!)

Feeling: Tight with a side of miserable

Outlook: READY TO DO THIS THING

9 responses

  1. Oh my gosh! So, so, so (x3!) excited!!! Your lives will be so blessed 🙂 Good luck with the next 4 days and the delivery, Stef! I know you’ll do great and Greg will be your biggest cheerleader 🙂 Can’t wait to see pictures of those baby girls! Hugs and prayers all around!!

    Sue

  2. We are so excited for you and are praying
    for an uneventful delivery(if that is even
    possible with triplets!). Know that the Aunts,
    Uncles and Cousins from down south will
    Come help anytime so don’t be afraid to ask!
    Love all of you and can’t wait to see your new trio! Strength in numbers!
    Kelli

  3. Oh my goodness!!! You’ll do great and we’ll all celebrate with Grandma’s roast beef and dumplings on Saturday at Goedde Christmas! We love you!! Your girlie cousins are going crazy!!! 🙂

  4. Thinking of you guys! Can’t think of two more awesome, capable people to take on a 3-for-1 🙂 When times get tough, just remember–you’ve got this! Love and prayers from the Rileys

  5. We are sending lots of love and prayers your way. So glad your family will be complete by Christmas. You have handled this triplet pregnancy like a champ. I have no doubts with the help of lots of friends and family, you will do the same as a triplet mom. We are here for you!

Leave a Reply

